Poem: Living Ghost

25 03 2006

Living Ghost
 

I feel nothing

As I sit here

Watching the world

Drift by slowly

 

I breathe the air

But is that enough

To say that I

As a person am alive

 

The children run by

Without a glance

Am I invisible

Or am I a ghost

 

My heart is beating

But is that enough

To know that I

As a person exist

 

I have markings

In my skin, scars

I stare and wonder

Did they bleed

 

I have little memory

But that isn’t enough

To prove that I

As a person lived

 

I walk along

People slip by

In a hurry against time

I have no concern for time

 

I don’t feel cold or warmth

But that doesn’t show

That I as a person

Do not feel

 

This stone I see

Has my name in gold

People I hear cry for me

It can’t be mine I am alive

 

My funeral is fake

For I am here, not dead

I refuse to admit I died

I will not move on I am alive